Compassionate Self Love

The first weekend of December I reached the halfway mark of my yoga certification. I’ve been relatively quiet about this experience so far and in truth it’s because I’ve felt really busy the past few months. Getting back into the rhythm of being in school, after a two year hiatus, was a bit more challenging than I expected. This month, I’m making an effort to slow down and find more balance.

I’m sometimes so in awe of what an incredible experience this is. I’ve loved yoga since I first began practicing in high school but this education is so much more than an on the mat practice. I’ve learned more about myself, had some pretty awakening realizations, and have made visible strides to have an “off-the-mat” yoga practice. This education is not only transforming the mechanics of my body, it’s challenging me to take control of my mind and have a more meaningful existence.

This month, we were given a thirty-day challenge to practice compassionate self love. We’re reading a book called “Making a Change for Good” by Cheri Huber. In the book, Huber talks about the “voices” in our head that tell us we’re not good enough, that we’ll never reach our full potential. For me, those voices always center around two insecurities, one of which being this idea of productivity. I spend so much time trying to be productive that I rarely enjoy my moments of downtime. To practice compassionate self love, this month I’ve committed to doing something creative everyday for a half an hour to an hour. I’m hoping to create a habit where I can come home from work and give myself the time I yearn for to do something for myself without allowing the voices in my head to tell me that I’m wasting my time, that I need to go accomplish X, Y, and Z, and drawing my meditative attention away from what’s important for my health.

I’ve had a lot of fun doing this so far and with the holidays on the way it’s been maybe a perfect time to practice compassionate self love in this manner. I’ve even allowed writing to be on my list of creative activities, giving me the opportunity to be more in touch with this blog and to nurture what I created years ago.

I’m currently in the process of writing a series for the blog and I’ll be posting that intermittently throughout the next month. More information to come, so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Compassionate Self Love

  1. mcshappctjournal says:

    This is wonderful. You told me at an age as young as 10 you wanted to write. Good to see you enjoying an early passion, I think I need to read that book too…it’s taken me years to appreciate down time, much love always

    Like

  2. Greg Norman says:

    Yoga has been an important part of my life. I have been on and off and recently trying to find space to get back in. One thing I noticed is when I haven’t done it in a while it takes me time to get my body back in shape, but my mind jumps in easily, like riding a bike. It seems the mental work you do strengthens you in a way that last. Keep on growing. One mental thing I recommend is exercises in concentration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

